Free Case Evaluation

Increase Your Chance of Winning Your Case Today!

Sexual Assault of a Child Penalties in Houston, Texas

Question: What is sexual assault of a child? What are the penalties in Texas?

Answer: If an adult has sex with a child under 17 years old, the person has committed sexual assault of a child. The reason for this is a person under 17 years of age cannot give consent. So even voluntary sex or the phrase “statutory rape” is the same thing as sexual assault of a child if the child is under 17 years old and the actor or the adult is not within three years of the age of the victim. This is a second degree felony and carries a range of punishment from two to 20 years in the penitentiary. There’s no probation allowed and you must register for life as a sexual offender.

Click here to download audio

Return to Sex Crime Information

Contact Us 24/7 Today: (713) 222-6767

View our informational pages below presented by The Law Offices of Ned Barnett:

Sex Crime Information

Click Here To Browse Our Sex Crime Information Pages

View Here

Ask Ned A Question

Send Us Your Questions. It's Free!

Get Started Now

Texas Sex Crimes Fact Guide

Download Our Guide & Audio Questions

Download Now