Free Case Evaluation

Increase Your Chance of Winning Your Case Today!

Solicitation of a Minor Penalties in Houston, Texas

Question: Can you explain the charge of solicitation of a minor in Texas and what are the penalties?

Answer: When we talk about solicitation of a minor in Texas, generally what we’re talking about is when an adult, a person 17 years of age or older, gets on the Internet and starts communicating with a peace officer who is posing or claiming to be a child under 14 years of age. The person will usually make arrangements with the minor—or the person whom he believes to be a minor who is actually a police officer—to meet and engage in sexual contact. Or he can simply communicate in a sexually explicit manner. The punishment for solicitation of a minor is that of a second degree felony: two years to 10 years in the state prison.

Click here to download audio

Return to Sex Crime Information

Contact Us 24/7 Today: (713) 222-6767

View our informational pages below presented by The Law Offices of Ned Barnett:

Sex Crime Information

Click Here To Browse Our Sex Crime Information Pages

View Here

Ask Ned A Question

Send Us Your Questions. It's Free!

Get Started Now

Texas Sex Crimes Fact Guide

Download Our Guide & Audio Questions

Download Now