Indecency with a minor is a sex crime that is aggressively prosecuted in the State of Texas. Under state law, there are two ways that a person can commit indecency with a minor: through sexual contact or exposure.
Engaging in sexual contact with a child under the age of 17 is considered indecency with a minor and is charged as a second-degree felony in Texas. If convicted, you will face a prison sentence of two to 20 years and will be required to register for life as a sex offender.
If you expose yourself to a minor who is under the age of 17 for the purposes of sexual arousal or gratification, you will be charged with indecency with a minor. This is a third-degree felony, punishable by a prison sentence of two to 10 years. Once you are released from prison, you will be required to register as a convicted sex offender for 10 years.
Regardless of the circumstances of your case, indecency with a minor is a felony in the state of Texas. If convicted, you will be sent to prison and you will have to register as a sex offender—you will also be marked as a convicted felon for the rest of your life.
The first thing you need to do if you are aware you are under investigation for indecency with a minor or if you have been charged with the offense is to find an experienced sex crimes attorney who will fight aggressively to defend you. Contact The Law Offices of Ned Barnett to schedule a no-cost and confidential review of your case today.
View our informational pages below presented by The Law Offices of Ned Barnett: